I think the scariest thing I have had to conquer so far as a mother was our first night home from the hospital. No more nurses to call for help or a pediatrician down the hall. We were going to be completely on our own. Even though we could have asked for help from my family, we chose to do things ourselves since they wouldn’t always be around to offer a helping hand. I was still in great amounts of pain so I was grateful for all the help my fiancé provided. Looking back, our first night wasn’t as difficult as I thought it would be. Baby GJ is a breastfed and formula-fed baby. On our first night he woke up to eat every 2.5 to 3 hours and drank 2 oz. I tried my best to breastfeed him the whole night but I was so tired and in so much pain that we fed him formula twice. Since before leaving the hospital, we have the habit of changing his diaper after feeding him then putting him back down to sleep another 2-3 hours. The hardest part of his first night home was getting enough sleep to take care of him the next day. The easiest part of a first night home with a newborn would have to be feeding them since they stop crying and won’t reject a bottle (or breast)! That first night we struggled with changing his diaper because in the transition of putting the clean diaper on he would pee his changing table, onsie and us! From this experience with our new baby I learned that no parent is perfect and sleep deprivation is a way of life you become accustomed to.

Leave a Reply

